Independent expert jury

The work of the jury is the most important “quality adjustment screw” when organizing an art prize. A jury of experts is convened to filter out what is worthy of funding. Independent people with expertise nominate those that they believe are artistically unique from the large number of digitally submitted works. The judging takes place in two steps: Nomination of the works that the jury believes are worthy of the prize after they have been viewed together on a large screen – and at the final jury meeting, the selection of the three prize-winning works in the art disciplines of painting, sculpture/object and photography/digital art.

The fact that parameters that are increasingly alien to art are creeping into the assessment of artistic works may even be necessary given the increasingly political content in art. Even if aesthetics are not always the most important artistic message, aesthetic judgment should not take a back seat.

The winners of this art prize are determined by a five-member independent jury of experts. The submitted works will be anonymized so that any preferential treatment is excluded. The requirement for the expert jury to evaluate, for example, in a politically correct manner does not exist because the ART PRIZE GERMANY is not financed or supported with public funds. This approach requires that “public sector” subsidies are deliberately avoided in order to cover costs – and that the jury is independent of any influence.

The names of the jury members for the ART PRIZE GERMANY 2024/25 will be announced after the final jury meeting.

The jury for the ART PRIZE DEUTSCHLAND 2023/24 included the following people: Dr. Carsten Voss (art historian, Hannover), Bettina Breidbach (author and artist, Bremen), Prof. Erich Kruse (College of Fine Arts, Braunschweig), Thorsten Heinze (gallery owner and artist, Berlin), Dr. Georg Trivisas (ex-gallery owner and artist, Hannover). > Patron: Dr. Prince Asfa-Wossen Asserate

Jury members for the ART PRIZE DEUTSCHLAND 2022/23: Delia Rauls (art school director, Braunschweig), Martin Jasper (culture editor, Braunschweig), Siva Fröhlich (artist, Hamburg), Thorsten Heinze (gallery owner, Berlin), Olaf Jaeschke (gallery owner, Braunschweig ). > Patron: Wilhelm von Boddien

Jury members for the ART PRIZE DEUTSCHLAND 2021: Siva Fröhlich (artist Hamburg), Dr. Holger Grimm (art historian, Hannover), Prof. Dr. Bernd Lindner (art historian, author and artist, Leipzig), Thorsten Heinze (gallery owner and artist, Berlin), Frauke Engel (art historian, Hannover). > Jury advisor: Prof. Timm Ulrichs (Hannover and Berlin) > Patron: Hargen Depelmann